Yoga home

Yoga home on In Buddhism manas is one of the six senses, each of which has a corresponding consciousness (vijnana).23 Vijnana is also a term used to designate the last of the five skhandhas, the five constituents of an individual. Asanga, a Mahayana Buddhist teacher, explains the relationship between manas and vijnana like this: What is the definition of the aggregate of consciousness (vijnanaskandha)? It is mind (citta), mental organ (manas) and also consciousness (vijnana). And there what is mind (citta)? It is alaya-vijnana (store-consciousness) containing all seeds (sarvbijaka), impregnated with the traces (impressions: vasanaparibhavita) of aggregates (skandha), elements (dhatu) and spheres (ayatana) What is mental organ (manas)? It is the object of alayavijnana, always having the nature of self-notion (self-conceit, manyanatmaka) associated with four defilements: viz., the false idea of self (atmadrsti), self-love (atmasneha), the conceit of I-am (asmimana) and ignorance (avidya) What is consciousness (vijnana)? It consists of the six groups of consciousness (sad vijnanakayah) viz, visual consciousness (caksur vijnana), auditory (srotra), olfactory (ghrana), gustatory (jihva), tactile (kaya) and mental consciousness (manovijnana) 24 Confused? Different texts and schools draw upon a common stock of terms but use them in different ways and ascribe different meanings to them. We may note, just as an example, that Maitri Upanisad 6.18 lists the final three stages of yoga meditation as dhyana, dharana and samadhi, whereas Patanjali gives them as dharana, dhyana and samadhi. Yoga home 2016.

Yoga home Photo Gallery

Yoga home Yoga Poses 8.

Leave a Reply

9 + 1 =